IFLA Scroll of Appreciation

IFLA Scroll of Appreciation is awarded to an individual who has given distinguished service to IFLA as a volunteer engaged in a committee or group.

The IFLA Scroll of Appreciation is peer nominated. A nomination for the IFLA Scroll of Appreciation is required to have at least two nominators from different countries who are current IFLA Members, Personal Affiliates, or current members of a Section Standing Committee. Each nomination shall be accompanied by at least one written referee report. The referee should not also be a nominator.

A nomination must include evidence to support any claims of the nominee's distinguished service to IFLA as a volunteer engaged in a committee or group.

Nominations for the IFLA Scroll of Appreciation shall be submitted to the Secretary General on the prescribed form by the date determined.

In making its decision, the Executive Committee will examine only the evidence provided by the nominators and the referee report(s) submitted with the nomination. The evidence and referee report(s) you provide should be based on the following required criteria

  1. Distinguished personal and professional contribution to IFLA’s committee(s) and/or group(s);
  2. Efforts in fostering IFLA values, for example, diversity, inclusion and equality

No nomination is required for the IFLA Certificate of Appreciation to be awarded each year by the IFLA Governing Board to the IFLA World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) National Committee for that year.

Past recipients (individuals)


  • Genevieve Clavel-Merrin
  • Victoria Owen
  • Winston Roberts
  • Mirna Willer
  • Evelyn (Eve) Woodberry


  • Jeanne Drewes
  • Steve Witt


  • Marie Sophie Dibounje Madiba
  • Karen Latimer


  • Nancy Bolt
  • Elena Escolano Rodríguez
  • Terry Weech


  • Dorothy McGarry
  • James Neal
  • Lynne Rudasill
  • Jacinta Were


  • Susan Schnuer


  • Réjean Savard


  • Magda Bouwens
  • Michael Heaney


  • Christine (Christie) Koontz


  • Gunilla Natvig
  • Birgitta Sandell
  • Barbara B. Tillett
  • Hartmut Walravens


  • Melvin P. Thatcher


  • Susanne Seidelin
  • Henri Sène


  • Marie-Thérèse Varlamoff


  • Tom Delsey
  • Pensri Guyasuwan
  • Ingrid Parent
  • Valeria Stelmakh


  • John M. Day
  • The Swiss Librarians for International Relations (SLIR)


  • Sara Gould
  • Marie-France Plassard


  • Lioba Betten
  • Alex Mosson
  • The National Library of Canada


  • Lis Byberg
  • Nancy John
  • Hans-Christoph Hobohm
  • Ralph Manning
  • Adolfo Rodriguez Gallardo
  • Børge Sørensen
  • Christopher Wright

Past recipients (National Committiees)

  • National Committee, Athens, Greece, 2019
  • National Committee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 2018
  • National Committee, Wrocław, Poland, 2017 
  • National Committee, Columbus, Ohio, United States, 2016
  • National Committee, Cape Town, South Africa, 2015
  • National Committee, Lyon, France, 2014
  • National Committee, Singapore, 2013
  • National Committee, Helsinki, Finland, 2012
  • National Committee, San Juan, Puerto Rico, 2011
  • National Committee, Gothenburg, Sweden, 2010
  • National Committee, Milan, Italy, 2009
  • National Committee, Quebec, Canada, 2008
  • National Committee, Seoul, South Korea, 2006
  • National Committee, Oslo, Norway, 2005
  • National Committee, Buenos Aires, Argentina, 2004
  • National Committee, Berlin, Germany, 2003

Dernière mise à jour: 15 mars 2021